Sewanee - Men's Lacrosse

Sewanee Lacrosse Camps

Head Coach Marty Watters

Marty Watters enters his 13th season as Sewanee's Head Coach for Men's Lacrosse, posting a 109-80 overall record.

Watters, a two-time Southern Athletic Association (SAA) Coach of the Year (2013-14), has led the program to five straight NCAA Tournament appearances (2013-17) and four conference championships (2013-15-16-17). Additionally, he led the team to six straight SAA Tournament Championship games from 2013 to 2018.

During his Tigers' tenure in the SAA, Watters has produced three All-Americans, six All-Region selections and 69 have been honored as an All-Conference selection.

The 2019 season saw Watters earn a historic milestone, as he earned his 100th career victory on Feb. 27 with a 16-5 win over Augustana (Ill.). The team finished 10-7 on the year and finished in the semifinals of the SAA Tournament.

The season saw success for one senior student-athlete, Ryan Stubits. In addition to setting the school record in both season (282) and career (721) face off wins, he also set the new conference records for the same category. Along with a First Team All-Conference selection, he was named All-Region by the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IMLCA) and an All-American Honorable Mention by the U.S. Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Association (USILA).

The Tigers saw seven student-athletes named All-Conference and seven were named to the Academic Honor Roll.

In 2018, the team once again earned an appearance in the SAA Tournament Championship game for the sixth consecutive season, as the team recorded a 10-7 season. Nine student-athletes were each named to the All-SAA Team and the Academic Honor Roll.

2017 saw the Tigers garner second place in the league, and they made their fifth straight SAA Tournament Championship game. After an 18-17 overtime victory over Berry in the semifinals, Sewanee edged Rhodes, 8-7, to earn the program's third consecutive conference tournament championship, the fourth overall, and the fifth NCAA Tournament appearance.

10 student-athletes were named to the All-Conference Team, while Peter Brown earned All-Region Honors by the IMLCA.

Academically, Jake Rubenstein became the first Sewanee student-athlete to earn USILA Scholar All-American status. Additionally, 13 were named to the SAA Academic Honor Roll.

The 2016 season saw Sewanee with a 12-4 season and a perfect record in conference play (7-0) to claim its fourth consecutive SAA Regular Season Championship. The team was also eyeing a conference tournament championship for the second straight season. After an 11-4 win over Birmingham-Southern in the semifinals, the Tigers tamed the Colonels of Centre, 9-7, to win its second straight SAA Championship and the third for the program.

Sewanee swept the major SAA awards that season, with Robbie Berndt earning Offensive Player of the Year honors with the league. Selby Austin claimed his second straight Defensive Player of the Year award, while Cason Liles was named the Newcomer of the Year. In total, 11 were named All-Conference, while four were selected All-Region by the IMLCA.

However, the program, after nine years of existence, finally earned its first All-Americans. Cason Liles and Robbie Berndt were the first two All-Americans for the program, as both were listed as Honorable Mention.

The 2015 campaign saw continued success for Sewanee, as they continued to build towards being one of the top men's lacrosse programs in the nation. Along with topping its first top-25 team in school history in Roanoke on Feb. 28 by a score of 10-9, the Tigers also earned its third straight trip to the NCAA Tournament. The Tigers earned its second SAA Tournament Championship in the last three years.

Individually, the young Tiger team dominated the SAA postseason awards. Attackman Robbie Berndt was named the SAA Newcomer of the Year while Selby Austin earned the SAA Defensive Player of the Year honor. Overall, 10 student-athletes garnered All-SAA awards. That again was the best in the SAA. Academically, the team garnered nine on the Academic Honor Roll.

Overall, Sewanee finished 11-4 despite playing one of the toughest schedules in the nation.

Prior to the successful 2015 season, Sewanee also had a great 2014 campaign. After winning its second straight SAA Regular Season Championship, the Tigers finished 12-5 as they earned its second straight trip to the NCAA Tournament.

Watters headlined the postseason honors after he was named SAA Coach of the Year for the second straight season. Additionally, former Tiger Michael Morris earned the league's Offensive Player of the Year award for the second time while Tommy Healy was named the SAA Defensive Player of the Year.

Finally, Jake Rubenstein completed the sweep of the league's top four individual awards by being named the SAA Newcomer of the Year.

Along with these four honors, 11 players were named to the All-SAA Team and a season-best 16 were selected to the Academic Honor Roll.

In the Tigers' second season in the SAA, Sewanee led the league in goals per game (13.06) and shots (763).

In 2013, Watters led Sewanee to its best season in school history. After being named the SAA Coach of the Year, Watters led Sewanee to its first conference championship and a berth in the program's first-ever NCAA Tournament.

Also in 2013, Watters and the Tigers dominated the SAA postseason awards. Under Watters's direction, former Morris earned the league's Offensive Player of the Year award while former student-athlete Slater Ottenritter was named SAA Defensive Player of the Year.

Along with these three honors, five players were named All-SAA First-Team selections. Additionally, two Tigers were named to the All-SAA Second-Team while five student-athletes received spots on the All-SAA Honorable Mention squad. 10 student-athletes were honored to the SAA Academic Honor Roll.

Additionally, Watters led Sewanee to a 14-3 overall record. Under his leadership, Sewanee led the league in goals, assists, shots, shots on goal, man-up goal percentage, groundballs, face-off wins, and goals-against average.

Sewanee also had two five-match winning streaks and posted an 8-1 record at home.

In 2012, Watters led the Tigers to its first winning season in the program's short history, recording a 12-5 overall record, earning a spot as a semifinalist in the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC). That season, Sewanee had five players on the 2012 All-SCAC Team. Six were selected to the Academic Honor Roll.

Additionally, current face-off specialist Hal Smith was named to the Preseason All-American Team under Watters's direction.

In 2011, Watters led Sewanee to a 7-8 record, 5-2 in SCAC play that saw the team earn a spot in the SCAC Tournament semifinals. Davis Brown was named the SCAC Men's Lacrosse Newcomer of the Year. Additionally, the Tigers boasted three all-conference selections and nine to the Student-Athlete Honor Roll.

In 2010, the Tigers posted a 4-10 record as the SCAC added men's lacrosse as a conference-sponsored sport. Four student-athletes were chosen to the inaugural SCAC All-Conference Team, while Thomas Moore was a co-Newcomer of the Year. Eight were named to the Student-Athlete Honor Roll.

2009 also saw the program win four games on the season, as the team continued its beginnings as a NCAA sport.

The team's inaugural season in 2008 saw them play as an independent, recording a 4-9 record. Sewanee's first-ever win in men's lacrosse came on March 12 with an 11-10 win over New England College (N.H.).

Prior to Sewanee, Watters worked as an assistant coach at Colorado College, Washington & Lee University and his alma mater, Skidmore College. Watters is a 2001 graduate of Skidmore College with a Bachelors Degree in Economics.